The DSA 2023 National Convention will take place in Chicago, Illinois on August 4th-6th! Convention updates will be posted on this website regularly, and will also be included in our DSA bi-monthly member newsletters, The Dispatch and the NPC Newsletter.

The National Convention is held every other year, and is the highest decision-making body of the organization. Delegates from across the country will meet to set our course for the next two years and elect our new National Political Committee (NPC), which functions as DSA’s highest decision-making body between conventions.

As part of the Convention planning process, the NPC will be drafting a 2022 End of Year report and releasing it to members in January 2023. This compilation will include highlights of organizational victories, an overview of the work carried out from our 2021 Convention resolutions, and what’s to come in the next year.

Join our Convention Mass Call Thursday 1/26/23

This Convention will be structured a little differently. To explain these changes and Convention timeline, the NPC is hosting a mass membership event Thursday 1/26 at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT. “The Future of DSA” will feature NPC members debating and discussing important political questions facing our organization and the terrain for DSA and for the left broadly. This call will also include an orientation on the format and structure of the Convention and Pre-Convention. Don’t miss it! You can register for the call here.

Convention Theme Contest and Call for Designers

Our Convention would not be complete without a theme! That’s why we’re happy to announce our second annual theme contest.

Do you have an idea for a theme for the DSA 2023 National Convention? Tell us your vision: a tagline, a mood board, a color scheme, you name it — just give us a good sense of the vibe. Make your submissions using this form before Friday 1/27/23! You don’t need design experience to submit your ideas. We’re so excited to see what you come up with!

We’re also looking for a design volunteer to design graphics for the 2023 National Convention! If you’re interested, please fill out this form.